Logo Università degli Studi di Milano


Dipartimento di

 
 
Notizie  

The Lincean Academy between Old and New Worlds. Writing the mexican treasury in baroque Rome

Immagine della locandina

20 OCTOBER 2021, h. 17:00 (Rome); 16:00 (London); 11:00 (New York)

TRaCer (TACITROOTS Research Colloquium Series) PRESENTS: The Lincean Academy between Old and New Worlds. Writing the mexican treasury in baroque Rome.

Speaker: Sabina Brevaglieri (Humboldt Universität zu Berlin)

Negotiating its complex collective configuration in a global turning-towards-Baroque Rome, the Accademia dei Lincei engaged with shifting understandings of natural knowledge, and a multi-layered reflection on the epistemic value of ars and industria. This project interconnected different actors, interests, and claims in an unstable dimension, which was shaped by urban competitions and continuous patronage repositioning, as well as by confessional tensions and international conflicts. My talk addresses the writing of the so-called Mexican Treasury, published in 1651 but already in print almost 25 years earlier, as the material communicative arena in which such a Lincean enterprise was deployed. Between presence and distance, intermedial practices and epistolary exchanges, artefacts, papers and prints, scientific transformation and artistic creativity strove to emerge as a political resource in making a universal Papal Rome.

This event is organized and moderated by the team of the TACITROOTS project at the University of Milan, directed by Prof. Giulia Giannini.

The event is free. To register, please write an email to stefano.gulizia@unimi.it and you will receive the link to join the Zoom meeting. Do not share this link.

Project TacitRoots (PI Giulia Giannini) – Funded by the European Research Council (ERC) under the European Union’s Horizon 2020 Research and Innovation Programme (GA n.818098).

More info: www.sites.unimi.it/tacitroots/

20 ottobre 2021
Torna ad inizio pagina