Logo Università degli Studi di Milano


Dipartimento di

 
 
Eventi  

“D’atomi altri è fatto il mondo”. Atomism and Artistic Creation in Seventeenth-Century Florence

“D’atomi altri è fatto il mondo”.

12 April 2021, h. 17:00 (Rome); 16:00 (London); 11:00 (New York)

TRaCer (Tacitroots Research Colloquium Series) presents: “D’atomi altri è fatto il mondo”. Atomism and Artistic Creation in Seventeenth-Century Florence.

Speaker: Eva Struhal (Université Laval, Québec / Universität Graz)

This talk focuses on the interdisciplinary discourse practiced in the Accademia de’ Percossi, the literary academy founded by the Neapolitan painter and satirist Salvator Rosa during his stay in Florence (1640-1649). This academy consisted of members from a variety of backgrounds: poets, such as Francesco Rovai and Antonio Malatesti; the antiquarian Roberto Dati; the scientist Evangelista Torricelli; and the Florentine painter Lorenzo Lippi. The writings produced in this academic setting will be analyzed in order to trace a “shared language” between poetry, art, and natural philosophy. In addition, the paper focuses on the fortuna of Lucretius’ De Rerum Natura in Florence during the 1640s and reconstructs how it affected the work of the painter and poet Salvator Rosa and his friends.

This event is organized and moderated by the team of the Tacitroots project at the University of Milan, directed by Prof. Giulia Giannini.

The event is free. To register, please write an email to stefano.gulizia@unimi.it

More info: www.sites.unimi.it/tacitroots/.

12 aprile 2021
Torna ad inizio pagina