Logo Università degli Studi di Milano


Dipartimento di

 
 
Eventi  

Glassmaking at the Medici Court during the Sixteenth Century

Glassmaking at the Medici Court during the Sixteenth Century

24 May 2021, h. 16:00 (Rome); 15:00 (London); 10:00 (New York)

TRaCer (Tacitroots Research Colloquium Series) presents: Glassmaking at the Medici Court during the Sixteenth Century

Speaker: Marco Beretta (Alma Mater - Università degli Studi di Bologna)

During the sixteenth century glass became a key material in several disciplines related to natural philosophy. The Medici Court invested important resources in creating production sites of luxury glass in Tuscany and this attracted the widespread attention of artisans from Leonardo to Biringuccio. Thanks to the patronage of Francesco I and Antonio de Medici, glassmaking became a prominent art rapidly competing with other important centres such as Murano and Altare. The patronage of the Court in glassmaking was intimately connected with the growing interest in alchemy. In my presentation I shall explore the cultural context of this connection and its lasting influence.

This event is organized and moderated by the team of the Tacitroots project at the University of Milan, directed by Prof. Giulia Giannini.

The event is free. To register, please write an email to stefano.gulizia@unimi.it

More info: www.sites.unimi.it/tacitroots/.

24 maggio 2021
Torna ad inizio pagina