Logo Università degli Studi di Milano


Dipartimento di

 
 
Eventi  

The Curses of Modernity. Writing, censorship and social discipline in italian historical thought

Neil Tarrant Tracer

8 November 2021, h. 15:00 (Rome); 14:00 (London); 09:00 (New York)

TRaCer (TACITROOTS Research Colloquium Series) presents: 
The Curses of Modernity. Writing, censorship and social discipline in italian historical thought.

Speaker: Neil Tarrant (University of York).

In this paper I consider the narratives framing Italian-language accounts of ecclesiastical censorship in early modern Italy and its impact on the modern Italian state. Discussing the work of three historians -- Adriano Prosperi, Vittorio Frajese and Gigliola Fragnito -- I set out their contrasting visions of the significance of such organs of censorship as the Roman Inquisition and the Congregation of the Index. I argue that although each historian offered differing accounts of these institutions and their effects, they were each responding to a common set of historical arguments about the Roman Catholic Church and its impact on Italian history in the years leading up to and following unification.

This event is organized and moderated by the team of the TACITROOTS project at the University of Milan, directed by Prof. Giulia Giannini.

The event is free. To register, please write an email to stefano.gulizia@unimi.it and you will receive the link to join the Zoom meeting. Do not share this link.

More info: www.sites.unimi.it/tacitroots/.

* Project TacitRoots  (PI Giulia Giannini) – Funded by the European Research Council (ERC) under the European Union’s Horizon 2020 Research and Innovation Programme (GA n.818098)

08 novembre 2021
Torna ad inizio pagina